Thought Trails

I have been looking into ruby and rails for a while now and most say, the community ROCKS. One very cool thing about the ruby community, appart from the fact that they are totally cool (cool might mean something else to you), they have a strong focus on TDD and Agile Methodology in general. I’ve been mock about re-writing my uni project using ruby on rails (only done the class library so far) in order to gain some hands on experience in it, MySQL and GIT (of which people have been raving about these days). I am beginning to wonder whether coding with the help of intellisense in visual studio is actually making me lazy or more productive. There are camps that support the benefit of intellisense and others that don’t. Personally I like intellisense, but have I become too used to it that picking up a new language without any intellisense is scaring me away from my comfort zone? Have I become a woosie?

Well to prove to myself that I ain’t no woosie, I will rewrite the class library and site using rails and TDD methodology. FKS (For F*ck Sake) I am disciplined and I eat challenges for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Leave a Reply

