Get book information from isbn – Introduction

Had a chat with my boss regarding the state of the Library Management System I am working on, which led to a nice challenge he brought up. Paraphrasing his words, “Couldn’t we use the ISBN of a book to automatically populate the form data fields, rather than entering the data manually?” I ran the idea pass my line manager and we had a look at Amazon’s web service (AWS), after further investigation I realised it isn’t free. That said, I came across this site (isbndb.com) which serves our purpose just perfect. It has an API and returns data in xml and the best part is it’s FREE.

I will be documenting the process of integrating with the site in future posts.

Leave a Reply

